Foraging inside the Fridge and a Hot Dip – Bagna Caoda

“When it comes to stocking the refrigerator,” I should like to say suavely with knowledge born of long experience, “my general goal is to stick to three staples:  the sort of ingredients that are required on a daily or regular basis, those that last for a good long while, and those that can always be counted upon in times of emergency.  Hence: coffee, milk, cream, eggs, butter, lemons, anchovies packed in oil, parmesan cheese, pecorino cheese, pancetta or guanciale, a tube of tomato paste, carrots and celery.”

Ha!  In my dreams …

In real life, there are times when opening the fridge door could serve as living proof of a law of physics (whose name escapes me because my own knowledge of physics is lamentably scratchy) whereby if someone utters a sound, and the waves of that sound ‘hit’ a barrier, the barrier will transmit a variation of that sound back if left unimpeded by empty space.  It’s what we call an ‘echo’.  Meaning, there are times when my refrigerator is so cavernously empty that if I belt out a mock rendition of a yodelling song, it will echo a riff of it back to me … as if to say, “Oi! What do you expect hee hoo?”

It is not often, however, that the fridge in our home is minimalist and yodel-like.  It’s usually quite ‘stocked’ … maybe not ‘well’ stocked, but stocked nevertheless.  And that’s because a fridge is as easy to clutter as a home.  It requires tremendous discipline to keep it in spanking shape.  Discipline and people who are tidy and methodical as opposed to nearly always being in a tearing hurry or trying to do too many things at the same time …

Try as I might to stick to three basic staples, there are times when the fridge door ajar reveals a congeries of plastic, glass, ceramic containers and/or parcels wrapped in paper and aluminium foil, storing all kinds of leftovers and ‘bits’.  It’s a state of affairs that will intransigently forbid echoing of any sort and, if anything, seems to glare at me defiantly as if to say, “Don’t give us that look of chagrin, it’s all your doing that we are here, cooped up in this fridge of yours.”  And then there are other times, mercifully, when all that bounty in the fridge is truly a pleasure to behold.  Variety is the spice of life and all that.

But variety is at variance with discipline, as I mentioned above … and recently I had not been a good girl and my fridge had been left to fend for itself — it if could speak it would have lodged a complaint with the RSPR (Royal Society for the Protection of Refrigerators). Thus it was that I recently resolved to undertake a thorough Feng Shui Decluttering and re-organization of the fridge, upon pain of succumbing to some grubby-fridge-related malaise.  It took me the better part of six hours, let me tell you … I washed and rinsed EVERYTHING, and whacked some sorely needed law and order into this most important of household containers and my zeal knew no end.  And yes, I did throw quite a lot of stuff away … which I always hate to do because it seems so wasteful.  But clinging onto ‘bits’ when you know you are not going to get around to utilising them is just sad and creates clutter in the fridge.  I found an inordinate amount of half empty jam jars which fuelled a sudden passion for making jam tarts (crostata).  “Very nice this crostata, good jam eh?” commented a family member and I didn’t have the heart to tell them it was actually a mixture of various jams.

Another treasure I came across as I foraged inside the fridge, that I was again happy to ‘transform’ instead of throw away, were these salt-dried anchovies.

IMG_3010 They look pretty awful don’t they.  I don’t know how long they had resided chez nous but it was definitely a case of months as opposed to days.  They were very dried out.IMG_3011 I put them in a bath … lots of baths actually … I kept throwing the water away and repleneshing it … and the final rinse saw a splash of wine in the water.

I had decided to make a Piedmontese dish called “bagna caoda” which translates as “hot sauce” — a ‘bagna’ being a sauce in that part of Italy and ‘caoda’ the dialect for the word “calda” meaning hot or warm.  I was almost 30 the first time I tasted this and fell in love straight away.  This is the recipe that my Torinese friend Piera Sacco taught me and I hadn’t made it in a long, long time!  It may not be exactly how she she would have made it but it’s very close.

IMG_3012 Steel yourself.  The first thing Piera told me that we were talking about one whole head of garlic per person per (can’t-remember-how-many) anchovies per person.  In other words lots and lots of garlic.  I’d say that we are talking about 40 cloves of garlic in this photo?IMG_3013 Here is the garlic, peeled and in a saucepan.  You could slice the garlic thinly … but who has the time?IMG_3014 Cover the garlic with milk and simmer until the garlic softens.  This might take about 30 minutes and keep an eye on it, in case you need to add another splash of milk.  The reason we simmer the garlic in the milk is that we want to remove some of their pungency … otherwise the garlic would be raping your taste buds senseless instead of courting them.  That and no one will want to sit next to you for at least three weeks, you’ll reek so much.IMG_3015 While the garlic was simmering … I got on with the anchovies that had fortunately recovered a bit of their freshness by now.IMG_3016 I proceeded to groom the anchovies: top and tail them, and removed all the bony and scaly parts.IMG_3017 When the garlic had gone nice and mushy ….IMG_3018 I introduced the garlic to the anchovies, trying to leave as much of the milk behind as possible.IMG_3019 I then broke up the anchovies and mushed them up with the mushy garlic …IMG_3020 I added about half a glass of olive oil … enough olive oil to cover the anchovies and the garlic by about half an inch, say …IMG_3021 And I simmered what had by now become a paste for about another 20 minutes, over a very low heat.  The paste must not burn … and, again, do keep any eye on it and add a little more olive oil if necessary.IMG_3022 I then poured the paste into a glass jar (and yes, that’s a bit of chocolate I recovered in the fridge — even though, as we all know, chocolate should never be inside the fridge in the first place … and the other two glass jars contain various stocks that I did use up in a soup).IMG_3023 Once the paste had cooled down, I added more olive oil to seal it in, and covered the jar with its lid.IMG_3024 When it was cool enough, I placed the jar containing the bagna caoda in the freshly cleaned fridge, standing next to a jar of dried roses.  Talk about a contrast!IMG_3047 Segue a week later and we are having friends over for dinner and I thought we’d have bagna caoda as an appetizer.  I plopped a tablespoon of butter into a saucepan …IMG_3048 I added some bagna caoda and turned the heat on.  I left the butter to melt over a low heat, and simmered the sauce (it IS a sauce now and no longer a paste) for a few minutes, until everything melded together beautifully.

The bagna caoda is served hot, usually in a ceramic pot called a “fujot”, and a large variety of crudités are used to dip into it.  IMG_3049Silly me … I didn’t frame the photo so that you can see the aperture where a candle is burning and keeping the bagna caoda hot … but if you look closely, you can see that it’s there … there is a glow on the right.IMG_3051And it’s not just veggies and boiled potatoes and spring onions that you can use as a dipping tool … if you have any leftover bagna, you could probably use some over boiled meat? a little spooned over a poached egg? an omelette? green beans?  The mind boggles … this is a hot dip indeed.

About myhomefoodthatsamore

Community celebration via food, wine and all beautiful things.
This entry was posted in Antipasti, Basic Techniques, italian home food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Foraging inside the Fridge and a Hot Dip – Bagna Caoda

  1. What a coincidence! I made bagna caoda recently and have the pictures all ready to a blog post on it. My recipe is very similar, except that I didn’t use butter and used an immersion blender to make it smoother 😉 I still need to find a fujot though, because it cooled down too quickly… Great post!

    • I love coincidences, don’t you Stefan! I can’t wait to read your post on the bagna … I love looking at variations and what have you. I am a little surprised re the immersion blender because it sort of goes smooth anyway ? but I am v. curious to see. The fujot in the photo … actually, I found it in Tuscany a few years ago, it’s fun isn’t it. Stefan … thank you for your comments, I really appreciate them!

  2. lovely post jo. not quite the recipe i have used, looks a lot better. a perfect dish for cold winter nights. xx

    • Thank you pinkhousefoods! What was your recipe like? I am always interested in finding out about variations, etc. My sister gorged on bagna caoda once, many years ago, and took an understandable disliking to it afterwards … which somehow then affected me. I found that I no longer made it. So in a way, I am glad that I had to confront a nasty looking fridge and declutter it because it ‘forced’ me to make a bagna caoda again!

  3. Great post Jo. Someone one said that they clean out their refrigerator every Friday evening in preparation for the weekly shop. I was speechless! On many levels! I prefer to have a well stocked pantry and buy fresh ingredients little and often. Those blasted jars and bowls and packets of bits and pieces do have a way of taking over though. I first enjoyed Bagna Coada at San Lorenzo’s in Beachamp Place many years ago and now thanks to you I have a recipe to follow. x

    • Every Friday, wow! good for them. I find that during the hotter months, when the fridge gets used a lot more naturally, I tend to keep up with what’s going on much better. It’s during those pesky colder months that the fridge plays hide and seek with me more! Re the bagna: what I love about it is that it is really so easy to make (it takes a while, yes, but it is very simple, nothing complicated about it). And the other thing is that if you make quite a lot, it will last for ages in the fridge … and that way you’ll always have an appetizer to hand in case someone pops round unexpectedly. And yes … you’ll clutter your fridge too!!!

  4. Francesca says:

    I can’t believe it, Jo! My friend from Alba just sent me her recipe for bagna caoda and was thinking to make a post about it but now? Well, I’ll spread the word about yours. After all, timing is everything in life 😉 Lovely, lovely post as always, Jo! 🙂

    • Are you joking! you MUST post your bagna caoda … please! StefanGourmet also remarked on the coincidence (see comment below) because he too was thinking about this recipe. I think this is great! We can start a bagna caoda frenzy!!! Dai …!!! The other thing is that there are always so many variations to a dish and it’s interesting to find out more about these minor differences.

Leave a Reply

