Thank You to Fellow (Food) Bloggers

happy in sperlonga

Dear Fellow Food Bloggers who have nominated me for an award,

I would like to thank you very much for nominating me/my blog, a gesture that I have appreciated a great deal,  and want to offer my deeply felt apologies for not being able to respond in kind.  Lame, I know … (sigh of embarrassment).  I wish I could lay the blame solely and squarely on the fact that I’ve had lots of problems with my computer and connecting to the internet for over a week — which has irked me beyond description as you can imagine.  The other, more lamentable, reason is that I do not know how to manage certain technical aspects of reciprocation with award-nominating and what have you: i.e. I am bloody useless with anything beyond sending an email or writing a post on the blog.  So please do not think me ungrateful or impolite.

Indeed, it was only with the help of my adorable and very good friend Alanna two years ago that I started this blog in the first place … with she sittting right next to me and treating me with the same sort of patience one would reserve for a three year-old.  Her explanations were exemplary precisely because I had asked her to explain things to me as though I were an idiot.  Seriously!  You should have seen me about a month ago when WordPress changed its format for uploading photos … aaaagh! Panic … help, eeeee, what do I do ? (and drinking a proverbial glass of wine or martini doesn’t help in these cases because you need your wits about  you).  Pathetic is what I am. (And Alanna no longer lives in Italy.)

You see, I give Italian cooking classes to people visiting Rome and thereabouts, and I am still doing it on a word-of-mouth basis.  It was Alanna who had suggested that I set up a blog and practice and ‘train’ on that before trying for a website.  And now, deep breath, my new year’s resolution is to set up the website this year … but all this awards and nominations stuff made me realise that I still need a lot of training, sigh …. Pingbacks and widgets and pinterest and twitter are all very frightening to me too …

I read blogs, as you probably might do too, for pleasure first and foremost, for a good laugh, for inspiration and broadening of the mind, and for information on the preparation of food (recipes).  I can spend a whole day reading blogs, or not take a look at them for days in a row.  Erratic is what I am.   Also, I frankly do not like saying I like one blog more than another because all the blogs I read have a purpose in my life, they are all pretty pearls on a putative necklace.  I am not a vegetarian, for instance, but I love to read about vegetarian recipes.   It’s the same way with children … you can’t tell a child he or she is your favourite — every child has to be a ‘favourite’ with his or her parents.

What I would like to do now is list the blogs (in no particular order, not even a diplomatic alphabetical one) that give me so much pleasure and to thank you, the writers, again for sharing your thoughts and knowledge.  I wish you a very very happy New Year and look forward to reading your posts!

‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award (http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/)

Domestic diva

http://www.garethjonesfood.com

racheleats.wordpress.com

thesinglegourmetandtraveller.wordpress.com

backontrackinthekitchen.wordpress.com/

feedthepiglet.wordpress.com

alotonyourplate.wordpress.com

chefmimiblog.com

fortonfood.wordpress.com

cuminseeds.wordpress.com/ (I only signed up a few hours ago to this blog),

Vina’sdeliciousrecipes –   vinca11.wordpress.com

faestwistandtango.wordpress.com

craftycooknook.wordpress.com,

myfrenchheaven.com

Flora’s Table – Florastable.com

Chef in Disguise – chefindisguise.com

savour life, spring forever – springforever.wordpress.com

Valentina Designs  – http://www.valentinadesigns.com

nataliasarkissian.wordpress.com

smittenkitchen.com/

ancient foods

putney farm

garum factory

El Gringo Picante

The Wanderlust Gene

Food and Forage Hebrides

backroadjournal.wordpress.com

About myhomefoodthatsamore

Community celebration via food, wine and all beautiful things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Thank You to Fellow (Food) Bloggers

  1. Thanks for listing my blog, Jo 🙂 I think a number of us are probably learning the techie side of blogging on the job. My daughter got me started with WordPress. Good luck with the website. Look forward to seeing it !

  2. Believe me, I’ve been using computers for years and I still get frustrated! Accepting the Blog of the Year 2012 award nearly did me in. And now I’m in the middle of accepting three (other) more. If you ever need advice on HTML do ask as I might be able to help out.
    Thanks for adding me to your list, and Happy & Prosperous 2013!

  3. Alanna says:

    Cara mia, I am so proud of all that you’ve shared with the world in the last 2 years. Hopefully, I can help from afar to take your blog to the next step!
    Auguri e tanti baci!

  4. debrarussell24 says:

    Jo, your blogs are my saving grace when I need to be in the kitchen. Thank you for guiding me time and again!

  5. Oh Darling Jo, I’ve been exploring your site… and just saw this. Thank you very much for including me in your list of notable culinary bloggers. It is an honor. I’m not all that technical either, but may know a thing or two. If you need any help, please feel free to write me. {{ Hugs}}, 😀 Fae.

    • Dear Fae, thank you!!! I am so sorry I haven’t been able to write back to you as I would have liked … all of sudden, things got unexpectedly ‘busy’ around here … and it takes some ‘quiet’ time to write a good email, as opposed to a couple of lines, if you know what I mean. I will definitely call upon your higher skills when pressed (I usually try and take advantage of my kids when they are around — but even they give up on me, on occasion!).You are indeed a ‘notable’ culinary blogger … and … I look forward to that book of yours, that will soon be out!Have a beautiful rest-of-the-weekend for now and a big hug,Jo.x

      > Date: Sat, 16 Mar 2013 07:02:38 +0000 > To: pinojo@hotmail.com >

Leave a Reply

