Matriciana – Variation number 1

I made this matriciana in July of last year.

Grated pecorino cheese, plum tomatoes, guanciale, glass of white wine.  Short pasta in the background (no bucatini or spaghetti).

I cut the guanciale into stocky strips and cooked them on a low heat to render their fat and turn as crisp as possible.  Please note that guanciale should be heated gently otherwise it can develop a sour aftertaste.  Please also note that the pan should, if possible, by an iron-cast one (I think copper pans are brilliant too).

Adding a splash of white wine and turning up the heat to burn off the alcohol content.

Putting the pasta to cook in boiling salted water …

I set the guanciale but kept the cooking fat in the pan.

Time now to cook the tomatoes …

When the pasta was a couple of minutes away from end of cooking time, I removed it and …

And put the pasta to finish cooking inside the tomato sauce.

Now is the time to add the guanciale too …

And when the pasta is cooked al dente, switch off the heat add the pecorino.

Grate more cheese on the pasta once it is plated up.

P.S.  I didn’t add chilli because my son, for whom I was cooking that day, doesn’t like it.  So I added some to my own plate later.  If you want to add chilli, add it while the guanciale is cooking at the beginning.

About myhomefoodthatsamore

Community celebration via food, wine and all beautiful things.
This entry was posted in Primi (first courses - usually a pasta or risotto), Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

